"A Closer Look At Energy Consumption In EVS"

At university I majored in “Energy Conversion” (a blend of ME & EE at that time) and am an active supporter of electric vehicles (EVS)… at both the casual and technical levels. For us it’s not just all “talk”; been driving a BEV (Battery Electric Vehicle, not a hybrid) for four years. Since April, no longer even own an ICE (Internal Combustion Engine), just two BEVS.

“Charged Electic Vehicles Magazine” is a good source of both consumer and technical info… and back issues of the magazine can be read online (free). An article on EV Energy Consumption from the January-February 2018 issue is attached:

A Closer Look at Energy Consumption in EVS - Charged Magazine - Jan-Feb 2018.pdf (3.4 MB)

3 Likes

“Conversely, overinflating the tires to reduce rolling resistance isn’t really worth the reduced tire life and increased risk of a blowout.”

Some recent reading I’ve done on bicycle tires says that the pressure/rolling resistance curve is sort of V-shaped, with hysteresis from tire deflection decreasing with increased pressure, but losses related to pavement roughness increasing with pressure.

I’ve been wondering whether this applies to auto tires, or if the stiffer, belted tire carcass changes things. Can anyone comment?

@Zed I don’t have knowledge of the analogy between bicycle and automobile tires. I do know the Electric Vehicles (EVs) have requirements with different priority than Internal Combustion Engine (ICE) tires.

For EVs, energy efficiency is most important. Tire manufacturers have developed tires with lower rolling resistance by using certain rubber compounds. My 2017 Chevrolet Bolt has the factory-installed “Michelin Energy Saver A/S” tires. Michelin claims they give up to 8% higher efficiency than typical all-weather tires.

For their size, EVs are much heavier than similar ICE (primarily because of the large battery). This is taken into consideration for the tires used.