Blockpad in lieu of Excel and Mathcad

Anyone useing Blockpad yet? Any thoughts, comments or suggestions?

First I’ve heard of it.

I finally canceled my MathCAD maintenance contract and was looking for a replacement. Was planning on using SMATH, but going to give this a test run instead.

Seems nice… until you check the prices.
I’m a carpenter, so I don’t rent my tools. I checked the lifetime license and it’s 950$. For an Excel replacement!
Sticking with Excel and VBA. Learning Python and Julia.

I like to own my own tools also. I own Mathcad but I have to rent Office to get Excel and Word. Yes, I know I could get OpenOffice, etc and I used those extensively but they just are not as good. I have no trouble paying for good tools. Since Mathcad is effectively dead and I have not liked Prime everytime I try it, I’m once again looking around. I’m not a fan of the work-arounds to make Excel use units or look like Mathcad, I’ve not been too impressed with SMath and a few others for my needs. So, I decided to give Blockpad out for a spin. So far, I like what I see, and they reply to emailed questions quickly.

It imports Mathcad (mostly)
It will import Excel soon (they say)
It will import CAD files soon (they say)
It makes PDFs quickly.
I like the flexible display system which can show your work.
The spreadsheet seems more like GoogleDocs than Excel but It has it’s plus points also.
Having a Mathcad replacement that also has native spreadsheet and word type documents is a plus.
It’s organization and presentation is growing on me.

I’m looking for anyone with experience to share, as I will as I try it.

I’m looking at Blockpad, too, but I have some concerns. It’s still pretty “young”.