Good drafting practices, GD&T and culture shock

SOURCE
https://www.eng-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=151604
Please click the above source URL to read the entire web page. Below is a snippet of the entire conversation.

QUESTION
I’m a lead engineer for a medical device manufacture that has a long history in the automotive and consumer products industry. I have a good background and understanding of GD&T and have been through many courses. With that being said, the company I’m currently with does not practice GD&T and does not have good drafting standards & many untrained designers (Untrained in good drafting practices). I’m making an attempt to create standards based on ANSI Y14.5.1 and also instill good drafting practices in the designers. The questions and issues I have are these:

1. I’m trying to make a good argument for complete manufacturing drawings because I’m constantly getting resistance to this because we supply 3d cad data and the parts are typically produced from this data. Other than incoming inspection, if the parts fits, the drawing rarely gets looked at. What are other arguments?

2. Does anyone have a good approach to driving GD&T and good drafting practices into a culture?

I was going to add more but if I could get some resolution to these issues, we’ve taken a huge step. Any input is appreciated.

REPLIES

ewh

1. The times are definitely changing. Now that more and more manufacturing centers can read CAD data, fewer drawings are actually needed. ASME Y14.41-2003 DIGITAL PRODUCT DEFINITION DATA PRACTICES is the governing standard for those that choose to rely more on the model and less on a drawing. While most CAD packages are not yet fully complient with the standard, they are moving that way. Any information that used to be on a drawing can be in the model file. Granted, it seems most companies are fighting to keep their drawings for reasons mentioned above. However, with the right software, drawings will be unnecessary.