How can new engineers impact sustainability of the companies they work for?

Hello! I’m a PhD student developing course content for an upper-level undergraduate environmental engineering course. I want to prompt students to think through how they can impact sustainability of the companies they work for even though they don’t hold a ton of power.

Some of the things we talk about are environmental impact of materials, systems thinking for life cycle assessments, air quality, and water quality. But in reality, many new engineers only see a small part of those topics in their work and it might not be obvious how to make informed, sustainable decisions.

I’m wondering, how do current practicing engineers consider sustainability in their everyday work? And what advice do you have for new engineers in incorporating sustainability into their decision-making as new or intern-level engineers?

I find this aspect to my work comes up pretty frequently. There are almost always ways to retrofit older processes, and add sustainable features in new designs. The big challenge I, and most other engineers, face is convincing employers, managers, etc. to pursue these things.

The unfortunate truth is the world runs on money, especially the world of our professions, to a large extent. A big focus in adding sustainability is cost and savings. If sustainable design changes decrease overall cost or reduce operating costs, then you are already one step ahead in making it happen.

Without that, only a somewhat radical, progressive company that will sacrifice profits for such a cause will even consider such ideas.

So to be more succinct. Economics…particularly economics of sustainability is a very valid, worthwhile, and vital topic for students and emerging engineers who want to incorporate sustainability into their projects.

Waste stream recycling/reduction, energy recovery/reduction are area ripe for cost improvements.