How Many of You Have Used a Slide Rule?

Just curious, as there seems to be a different approach to engineering whether you started in the slide rule era or in the calculator/computer era.

If you used a slide rule in engineering school and/or practice, what did it teach you that calculators and computers do not reinforce?

One of many…

I’ve used them, but it’s been a very long time. Mostly it was in high school drafting and a little bit when I was a machinist. Not sure if I would remember how to use one now.

1 Like

I have a really long one . . . a 14” bamboo Lafayette 99-70559.

Looks almost exactly like my Post Versalog

Slide Rule Instructions

Just checking to see how outside website link works. Let me know if you can open the link. Should be a single page pdf with slide rule instructions

it works! It opens up in the same tab though. I’m going to have to see if we can make outside links open up in a new tab.

Let’s see…

Slide Rule Instructions

well, that didn’t do it. I’ll look more into how to open external links in a new tab.

Purchased and used four of them - a metal Pickett like Ron’s that I learned on in high school chemistry class in 1968, a Post Versalog and a K&E, both bamboo that I used in college, and a plastic piece of crap I never used.

My secondary school (that’s ages 11-18) insisted that we used slide rules in maths lessons or exams for the first four or five years (even though affordable four function calculators started to appear in our first year and, by the third year, a fiver bought me the remains of a reasonably capable device one of my mates had shot to bits with an airgun).

All through university, I took a slide rule into exams with me, knowing it was never going to run out of batteries.