How much do you people work?

(pulls up a barstool, orders the cheapest beer on the menu)

I’ve been working 60-80 hour weeks for the last 2 years. Business owner of a new structural engineering company. Almost no time for family or friends. I make around 110k/year.

How much do y’all work and get paid?

When I owned my own company, I worked maybe 20 hours per week and paid myself a pittance. But I had young kids and husband had(has) a great job, so my flexibility was more critical than making money.

Now they’re older and able to function alone more often, so I have a full-time job for someone else. I started out working about 50-60 hours a week and it almost wrecked my family, and my boss told me to quit it because I was getting burned out, so now I’m careful with my 40 hours and go home on time. I make more than 10 times what I paid myself, which tells you how little I paid myself AND how well this new job pays.

What’s your goal with that money? Are you saving for a house/a car/early retirement/etc, or are you just making money? What’s most important to you at this point in life? If it’s a new company and not yet established, then I get it. If you’re established, then maybe relax on it a bit. At a minimum, I recommend setting an end date for working so much - Jul 1, 2020, or pick whatever day makes sense to you.

Good luck!

SLTA, thanks for your perspective. I really wish I could work 20 hours a week, but my business would flounder in NYC, where the building department is tough.

Like you mentioned, the problem is that I’m not established yet. My reputation is getting better, but it’s not solid. But I like your idea of an end date of hard work of July 1, 2020.

The most important thing in my life is to make enough to support my wife and kids, which I’m barely doing now, but the 2nd most important is to play videogames and work on my car by myself. And I feel like there’s no way I could make that happen. But with an end date of hard work, maybe it could happen.