Interview Request: Engineering Problem Solving Experiences

Hello SimpliEngineering folks,

My name is Laura. I am a PhD student at the University of Michigan, and I am conducting a study about exploration during engineering problem solving. I’m interested in talking to you - US based, practicing Mechanical Engineers - about your experiences where you may have (or wished to) explore alternatives during an engineering project.

I am particularly interested in the folks on SimpliEngineering as you all come from varied industries with many years of experience and I think your experiences would add great value to our work.

If you’re willing, send me a private message and I will share more information about the process and suggest scheduling an interview. If you participate, the interview will last about 90 minutes and we will thank you with a $75 giftcard.

This study is supported by University of Michigan IRB #HUM00170992.

If you have any questions, you can reach me via private message on SimpliEngineering. Thank you for your time and consideration.

2 Likes

@lrmurphy Hi Laura, please send me “more information”, or post it here, whatever you wish. I’d like to see what I might be getting myself into.

In our business, we call “exploration during engineering problem solving” the Discovery phase. I’m sure other companies have other labels.

1 Like

Likewise. Is your interview regarding the “innovation funnel” or does it have more to do with tools and software used to explore engineering solutions to problems? Or maybe something more to do with engineering methods, such as Design of Experiments?

1 Like

Will your interview concern about transition of traditional manufacturing engineering industries to Industry 4.0?

Reverse engineering, laser scanning, 3D printing etc along with simulation tools are making the rounds in metal casting industries.

1 Like