Masters Thesis versus Non-thesis

SOURCE
https://www.eng-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=242624
Please click through the source URL above to read the entire web page. Posted below is a snippet.

QUESTION
I graduated with my BS in mechanical engineering in 2004 but I haven’t done any engineering work since I did an internship for an environmental engineering firm assisting with SPCC plans.

I have been a middle school math and science teacher since I graduated from my undergraduate. I wanted to go into engineering when I graduated from college but I couldn’t pass up an opportunity to coach football for a few years. I have accomplished what I wanted to in that field and I am looking to getting back to the engineering field.

I have been tossing a few ideas around and wanted some advice from people that are already in the field.

I am planning on pursuing my MS in mechanical engineering next year to help “brush” up some of my skills before I enter the workforce as an ME. I have done a search and I still don’t know which option would be better a non-thesis option or a thesis masters option and whether or not a Masters is the best way to market myself as an ME.

I am interested in advice on the.
1 Thesis versus Non-thesis option
2 Masters (help with the lack of experience?) would I still be considered entry level? I am guessing yes.
3 Any other things I should be aware of with this career change.

REPLIES

xnuke

1. Unless you are interested in a job in R&D, learning how to do research, or getting your PhD eventually, skip the thesis. The companies that I have worked for as a non-R&D engineer don’t care.
  2. Yes, you will still be entry level, since you have no experience working as an engineer. As a matter of fact, expect that most of what you learn in a Master’s program will help you very little on the job. Even much of your undergraduate education will be no help - most universities teach too much theory and not enough practical knowledge.