Order of the Engineer

I’m curious if anyone else participated in or if their school offered entry to “Order of the Engineer”. My university offered it upon graduation. It was a one time $10 fee to cover the cost of the stainless steel ring given during the ceremony. For anyone who has no idea what I’m talking about: Order of the Engineer website

It was a short ceremony after earning our bachelor’s degrees, where we took the oath and were given the rings to wear. There are no dues to pay or requirements to maintain “membership” or anything, but honestly, I’ve thought about it very often throughout my career. I’ve been wearing the ring for continuously for over 10 years now and it does remind me of the oath I made to receive it:

I am an Engineer. In my profession I take deep pride. To it I owe solemn obligations. As an Engineer, I pledge to practice integrity and fair dealing, tolerance and respect; and to uphold devotion to the standards and the dignity of my profession, conscious always that my skill carries with it the obligation to serve humanity by making the best use of the Earth’s precious wealth. As an Engineer, I shall participate in none but honest enterprises. When needed, my skill and knowledge shall be given without reservation for the public good. In the performance of duty and in fidelity to my profession, I shall give my utmost.

It doesn’t necessarily say it, but I’ve always considered it a sort of Hippocratic oath for myself. It is a cliche, but I’ve found myself reminded by the ring on my finger that I should “do no harm” with my work and ability.

I’ve been a member for many years and in non-pandemic times, I induct our new graduates into it as well. That ring does help you remember to be the best engineer you can!

1 Like

42 years of practice, and I never ever heard of it. Amazing!

Latexman,