Pipe Forming

SOURCE
https://www.eng-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=436720
The above URL contains the entire discussion. Below is a snippet.

QUESTION

Got some basic doubt here. How do we calculate the forming length of a pipe with thickness. I know the formula is pi*d. But I am a bit confused on the thickness part.
As the unfold gives the same length for both the diameters(which is illogical),how do we consider the calculation for taking the forming length for such pipes. I know it is basic. But I am not an expert in manufacturing and hence need some support.

I am forming a pipe out of a flat stock.

REPLIES

berkshire
Bend Allowance (BA)
BA = [(0.017453 × Inside radius) + (0.0078 × Material thickness)] × Bend angle, which is always complementary
The length of the neutral axis is calculated as a bend allowance, taken at 50 percent of the material thickness. In Machinery’s Handbook, the K-factor for mild cold-rolled steel with 60,000-PSI tensile strength is 0.446 inch. This K-factor is applied as an average value for most bend allowance calculations. There are other values for stainless and aluminum, but in most cases, 0.446 in. works across most material types.

If you multiply the material thickness by the K-factor (0.446), you get the location of the relocated neutral axis: for example, 0.062 × 0.446 = 0.027 in. This means that the neutral axis moves from the center of the material to a location 0.027 in. from the inside bend radius’s surface. Again, the neutral axis goes through no physical change structurally or dimensionally. It simply moves toward the inside surface, causing the elongation.