Skills/Training required to be a project manager

SOURCE
https://www.eng-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=144359
Please click on the above source URL to read the entire web page. Below is a snippet of the conversation.

QUESTION
My background is as follows: -

Apprenticeship in Mechanical Engineering
BEng in Mechanical Engineering with Business Management
PhD in Mechattronic design in orthopaedic medicine
One and half years experience in overseeing the development of an injection moulded disposable medical device for use in the human eye.

I coordinated the entire project for the disposable medical devise, but have no training in project management. Consequently I am concerned that my skills are not sufficient to be a project manager.

Please can anyone advise me as to what skills and training are required before an Engineer can advertise as a project manager.

REPLIES

RDK
Follow up on the assignments and delegation given to subordinates. Don’t wait for the work to be due and then discover that they misunderstood the basic direction or were having trouble with the assignment.

Talk to them and follow up not only right after the assignment is given or just before it is due but during the process, keep your people on track.

The trick to managing technical people is to get them to stop playing with their design and getting it out the door. Most engineers will, if allowed, optimize their designs to the nth degree. Have something else shiny and interesting to get them to finish with one stage and to get started on the next.

The balancing wire act is to keep on top if what they are doing without suffocating them. Different people will tolerate different amounts of supervision so get to know your people and manage them with the least amount of supervision that is effective.

DRC1